Posted by: Ashley | May 5, 2009

Wausau Whitewater needs YOU!

Joe Jacobi and daughter, Seu

Joe Jacobi and daughter, Seu

Sorry for disappearing… The worst thing a blogger can do is start talking and quit. I could easily have come up with conversation about whitewater without trying very hard. But my life got busy and I have been spinning to keep up. Around the time that I started this blog and the one for Design Resumes (my own company), I also started studying social media and started playing with Twitter (find me on Twitter @JulieWalraven) and FaceBook. You can find me there, you can find me on LinkedIn and everywhere I use my own name. But I Tweet about Wausau Whitewater all the time and my tweets go to my Facebook page. Twitter lets me have people following me who don’t have a clue about whitewater but if they are curious they can ask me. We want to get the word out about whitewater general because that’s how growth happens. Most of the social media in my life was inspired by the two sides of me. On the career side, I had input from many colleagues but the main one was Jason Alba, and then the whitewater side was inspired by Joe Jacobi, 1992 Olympic Gold Medal winner who will be in Wausau for the Ray McLain Training Camp at the end of June. He’s staying for Wausau Whitewater Weekend and you’ll hear soon of some of the fun things we will be doing during that event.

For today though, we really need your help. We have great sponsors and many of them are back but many of them due to the economy have cut their donations. At this point, May 4, 2009, we are $20,000 below donation levels for 2008. The Wausau Whitewater 2009 has to be at the printer on May 13 and I have been busily contacting sponsors for the past few months, getting ads in, and getting the articles planned.

Many times people help if you ask them. SO I’m asking… because you would think nothing changed if I didn’t tell you. The changing economy affected all non-profits and there are many causes that need your help too but if you are a whitewater enthusiast that cares about the Wausau Whitewater course, we hope you will help us.

I have put a PayPal donation button on the home page of Wausau Whitewater so if you are so inclined, please go there and you can safely give a donation. Any amount will help!

If you own a company or work for a company, I can still add to the 2009 issue of Wausau Whitewater which Sun Printing is going to print in full color and on glossy paper at a very fair price.

Sponsor levels vary but even at the Brass level of $300 you get a 1/4 page ad in the book. We offer many benefits at each level because sponsors are very important to us. If you are interested in learning more, email me at wkcc@dwave.net and I can send the electronic sponsor package.

Overall, we just need your support in any way you can provide it. We have an outstanding line-up of training, recreational opportunities, and events but in order to run them, we have to have operational money. SO if you can donate, go to www.wausauwhitewater.org and press the PayPal donate button on the home page.

By the way, I sure function better in sunshine and 70 degrees!

Leave a Reply

Categories

